Before adopting a similar practice to other Dicasteries of the Roman Curia with Members and Consultors, in its early years the Pontifical Council for Culture was supported by an International Council of Advisors

Former Members of the Dicastery: 1993 onwards (awaiting completion)

Francisco Javier card. Errazuriz Ossa


Cardinal Francisco Javier Errázuriz Ossa is emeritus Archbishop of Santiago de Chile in Chile



Giovanni Lajolo was born 3 January 1935 at Novara, Italy. He has a Licence in Philosophy and Theology from the Pontifical Gregorian University, Rome; a Degree in Canon Law from the University of Munich. He was ordained priest on 1 May 1960;  Bishop on 6 January 1989. He was Apostolic Nuncio in Germany, 1995-2003; Secretary of Relations with States 2003-2006; President of the Governatorate of S.C.V., 2006-2011. He was created Cardinal in the Consistory of 24 November 2007.

Polycarp card. Pengo

Polycarp Cardinal Pengo,

POLYCARP CARD. PENGO is the Archbishop of Dar-es-Salaam in Tanzania, born on 5th August 1944, at Mwazye Parish in the Diocese of Sumbawanga. Ordained priest on 20th June 1971. Appointed Bishop of Nachingwea on 11th November 1983. Ordained on 6th January 1984 by Pope John Paul II in St. Peter’s Basilica Rome.
He was proclaimed Cardinal by Pope John Paul II on 18th January 1998 and created Cardinal on 21st 1998.

Jean-Pierre card. RICARD


Cardinal Jean-Pierre Ricard, archbishop of Bordeaux, bishop of Bazas

Pope John Paul II named him auxiliary bishop of Mgr Louis Dufaux, bishop of Grenoble, 17 april 1993. He was ordained bishop 6 June 1993. He was named him coadjutor bishop of Mgr Louis Boffet, bishop of Montpellier, 4 July 1996. The Pope named him Archbishop of Bordeaux - Bishop of Bazas on 21 December 2001.

Mgr Jean-Pierre Ricard was elected president of the Conference of Bishops of France, 6 November 2001 and reelected in 2004. He was honoured with the pallium on 29 June 2002, named member of the pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei 15 July 2002, member of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, 6 September 2002. He was created Cardinal with the title of St Augustine on 24 March 2006 by His Holiness Benedict XVI. The Pope named him, 17 January 2009 as member of the Pontifical Council for Culture, on 21 January 2010, he was appointed member of the Pontifical Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity, on 6 July 2010, he became a member of the Congregation for Divine Worship and Discipline of the Sacraments and on 22 October 2011 he was a member of the Cardinalate Council for the administrative and economic issues of the Holy See.

Antonio Maria card. Rouco Varela


Cardinal Antonio María Rouco Varela is the Archbishop of Madrid, Spain

Juan Card. Sandoval INIGUEZ


Cardinal Juan Sandoval Íñiguez is emeritus Archbishop of Guadalajara, Mexico

Theodore-Adrien card. Sarr


Cardinal Théodore-Adrien Sarr is Archbishop of Dakar, Senegal and President of the Regional Episcopal Conference of West Africa (CERAO-RECOWA)

Christoph card. Schonborn


Cardinal Christoph Schönborn is Archbishop of Vienna, in Austria 

Jorge Liberato Card. Urosa Savino


Cardinal Jorge Liberato Urosa Savino is Archbishop of Caracas, Venezuela

Héctor Aguer


Héctor Aguer Born in Buenos Aires, 24.5.1943. Ordained priest 25.11.72. Ordained Bishop 04.04.92.

Archbishop of La Plata. President of the Catholic Education Commission of the Episcopal Conference of Argentina. Corresponding member of the National Academy of Moral and Political Sciences. Grand Prior for Argentina of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem.



Mark Benedict Coleridge is Archbishop of Brisbane, Australia



Fabio Duque Jaramillo, O.F.M. is Bishop of Garzon, Colombia. He was born in Armenia (Colombia) on 12 May 1950. He finished his ecclesiastical studies at Bogotá. He obtained a Licence in Philosophy and Theology at the University San Buenaventura di Bogotá, and a Doctorate in Liturgy at the Pontifical Atheneum of Saint Anselm in Rome. He made his religious profession at Bogotá on 1 February 1975 and was ordained priest in Armenia on 29 November in 1975. As a priest he carried out many tasks: Vice-Master of Novices, Parish priest of Chimichagua a Cesar, Director of the Department for Consecrated Life and Director of the Department for Catechesis of the Colombian Episcopal Conference, Dean of Theology at the University of San Buenaventura, Bogotá, Professor of Liturgy in the Major Seminary of Barranquilla.

He was called to service of the Holy See in the Pontifical Council for Culture, where he was an official from 1994 to 1997 and Undersecretary from 1997 to 2003.

On 29 November he was named Bishop of Armenia. He received episcopal ordination on 31 January 2004. On 11 June 2012 he was named Bishop of Garzon.

Donal Murray

Bishop Donald Murray

Donal Murray is Emeritus Bishop of Limerick, Ireland

Anselme Titianma Sanon


Anselme Titianma Sanon is emeritus Archbishop of Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

Before adopting a similar practice to other Dicasteries of the Roman Curia with Members and Consultors, in its early years the Pontifical Council for Culture was supported by an International Council of Advisors

Arvo Pärt

Arvo Part2011_IMG_2176
by courtesy of Eric Marinistch

Arvo Pärt. Composor. Born in 1935 at Paide, Estonia. Emigrated in 1980 to Vienna with his family, later he transferred to Berlin wish a scholarship from DAAD. In 2011 he returned to Estonia. Two great periods of creativity mark his life: 1) 1958-1968, neoclassicism, avant-garde, collage techniques. Then, after 1968-1976, a time of research for his own style, phase 2) from 1976, with his first work in the tintinnabular style, which characterise his work even today.