The Members of the Pontifical Council are important personalities from the Church and the world of Culture, nominated by the Holy Father for periods of five years. These cardinals, bishops, priests and lay people help the council identify the main cultural challenges facing the Church and establish lines of action for the Dicastery's work. The Members normally meet every two years in a Plenary Assembly. They can also intervene on behalf of the Dicastery at international meetings.

His Beatitude Cardinal Louis Raphaël Sako, Patriarch of Baghdad of the Chaldeans, Iraq;

The Eminent Cardinals:

Marc Ouellet, P.S.S., prefect emeritus of the Dicastery for Bishops;

Luis Antonio G. Tagle, pro-prefect for the Section for first evangelization and the new particular Churches of the Dicastery for Evangelization;

Luis Francisco Ladaria Ferrer, S.J., prefect of the Dicastery for the Doctrine of the Faith;

Lazzaro You Heung-sik, prefect of the Dicastery for the Clergy;

Odilo Pedro Scherer, archbishop of São Paulo, Brazil;

Kazimierz Nycz, archbishop of Warszawa, Poland;

Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, of the Pius X Secular Institute, archbishop of Québec Canada;

José Luis Lacunza Maestrojuán, O.A.R., bishop of David, Panama;

Jozef De Kesel, archbishop of Mechelen-Brussel, Belgium;

Carlos Aguiar Retes, archbishop of México, Mexico;

Joseph William Tobin, C.SS.R., archbishop of Newark, United States of America;

Jean-Claude Hollerich, S.J., archbishop of Luxembourg;

Antoine Kambanda, archbishop of Kigali, Rwanda; Celestino Aós Braco, O.F.M., archbishop of Santiago de Chile, Chile;

Arthur Roche, Prefect of the Dicastery for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments,


Archbishop Salvatore Fisichella, pro-prefect of the Section for Fundamental Questions of Evangelization in the world, of the Dicastery for Evangelization;

Archbishop Jose S. Palma of Cebu, Philippines;

Archbishop Gerard Tlali Lerotholi, O.M.I., of Maseru, Lesotho;

Archbishop Stanisław Budzik of Lublin, Poland;

Archbishop Paul-André Durocher, Canada;

Patriarch Francesco Moraglia of Venice, Italy;

Archbishop Alfonso Cortés Contreras of León, Mexico;

Archbishop Víctor Manuel Fernández of La Plata, Argentina;

Archbishop Filomeno do Nascimento Vieira Dias of Luanda, Angola;

Bishop Marian Florczyk, auxiliary of Kielce, Poland; Bishop Franz-Josef Overbeck of Essen, Germany;

Bishop Ambrogio Spreafico of Anagni-Alatri and Frosinone-Veroli-Ferentino, Italy;

Bishop Linus Lee Seong-hyo, auxiliary of Suwon, Korea;

Bishop Charles Morerod, O.P., of Lausanne,Genève et Fribourg, Switzerland;

Bishop Brendan Leahy of Limerick, Ireland;

Bishop Valerio Lazzeri, emeritus of Lugano, Switzerland;

Claudio Gugerotti Prefect of the Dicastery for the Eastern Churches;

Bishop Robert Francis Prevost, O.S.A., Prefect of the Dicastery for Bishops.

Messrs. Paolo Ruffini, prefect of the Dicastery for Communication;

Francesc Torralba i Roselló, director of the Càtedra ETHOS at the Ramon Llull University in Barcelona, Spain;

Rafael Vicuña, lecturer in molecular biology at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile in Santiago, Chile.